European Working Group of Labour Law (EWL)


In the EWL group, established in 1998, professors of Labour Law of seven universities cooperate in teaching and research.


These universities are the university of Strasbourg (France); Frankfurt/Oder (Germany);  Universiteit Utrecht (the Netherlands); Universidad de Malaga  (Spain), Adama Mickiewicza University in Poznan, University of Leicester (United Kingdom) and the University of Stockholm (Sweden).

EWL members focus on studying, researching and teaching both individual and collective labour law and social security law at the national, European and international level embedded in a social historic, societal and economic framework.

The two main fields of activities are:


-     A yearly intensive student seminar on European labour law in one     of the universities. This is the core teaching activity. The subject of     the seminars has been chosen out of the most actual developments     in the EU and the member states represented in the group.


-    Exchange of teachers in the regular teaching programmes of the     participating universities.


EWL organises joint research projects  on labour law. The results are presented on conferences organised by the group or one of its members and in publications edited by the group or its members.


For the website, see



Members of EWL




Université de Strasbourg : Prof. Nicolas Moizard and Benjamin Dabosville (Maître de conférences)



Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) : Prof. Eva Kocher and Dominik Schmitz



Utrecht Universiteit: Prof. Frans Pennings and Prof. em Teun Jaspers 



Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza w Poznaniu: Prof. Michał Skąpski and Jacob Golas



Universidad de  Malaga: prof Maria Salas and prof Juan Carlos Alvarez Cortes



University of Stockholm, prof  Petra Petra Herzfeld


United Kingdom

University of Leicester: Pascale Lorber, Associate Professor and Lisa Rodgers